NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL



COUNCIL

Thursday, 27 May 2004

YOU ARE SUMMONED TO ATTEND A MEETING OF NORTHAMPTON BOROUGH COUNCIL, WHICH WILL BE HELD AT THE GUILDHALL NORTHAMPTON ON THURSDAY THE TWENTY SEVENTH DAY OF MAY 2004 AT ELEVEN O'CLOCK IN THE MORNING WHEN THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS IS PROPOSED TO BE TRANSACTED:-

1. ELECTION OF MAYOR

Councillor Hadland to propose and Councillor Church to second: "That Councillor W B Massey be elected Mayor of the Borough of Northampton for the ensuing year."

After election the Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor's Sergeant will invest the Mayoress (Mrs Joan Massey) with her badge of Office.

The Mayor will thank the Council for his election.

2. VOTE OF THANKS TO OUTGOING MAYOR AND MAYORESS

Councillor Marriott to propose and Councillor Larratt to second: "That the thanks of the Council be given to Councillor T G Wire and Mrs Fran Wire for the able and courteous manner in which they have discharged their duties as Mayor and Mayoress during their term of office.

3. MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

To record the appointment of the Mayor's Chaplain, the reverend Simon Godfrey.

4. DEPUTY MAYOR

Councillor Simpson to propose and Councillor Hill to second: "That Councillor S Beardworth be appointed to the office of Deputy Mayor for the ensuing year.

After appointment, the Deputy Mayor will make the declaration of acceptance of office.

The Mayor's sergeant will invest the Deputy mayor's Consort (Mr Mike Beardsworth) with his Badge of Office.

5. MINUTES.

To approve the minutes of the proceedings of the Meeting of the Council held on 26th April 2004.

6. APOLOGIES.

7. LONG SERVICE

To record the long service of the following employees:

25 Years' Service

Business and Housing Services: D Askens, P Gittins.

Chief Executive and Town Clerks': R Tapp

Community Services: G Ezzard, R Gold, J Hunt, I Raybould, G Szczerbetyj, L Taylor

Strategic Resources: J Birch, G Davies, J Garner, J McGuigan

8. RETIREMENTS

To record the appreciation of the Council for he faithful service of the following employees who have retired in 2003/04:

Business and Housing Services: G Boddington, T Ellis, J Flood, M J Furnis, T Prickett, V Ridzwan, P Spicer, T M Williams

Community Services: D Buxton, D Dovey, D Gardner, J Gibbon, S A Moore, E Watkins Strategic resources: R Grove, D Hamilton, C Moore

At this point, guests may take the opportunity to leave should they wish to do so prior to the commencement of the other business of the meeting.

9. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

10. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE MAIN OPPOSITION GROUP

11. LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE LABOUR GROUP

12. COUNCIL MEETINGS

13. REPORT OF ACTING CHIEF EXECUTIVE - COMMITTEE PROPORTIONALITY

14. EXECUTIVE

15. MEETINGS

To consider appointments for 2004/05 to membership of the following Committees and to the respective positions of Chair and Deputy Chair.

GENERAL PURPOSES COMMITTEE (8)

Councillor Edwards (Chair), Councillor Crake (Deputy Chair), Councillors Beardsworth, Concannon, Duncan, Miah, Patterson and Simpson.

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEES (9)

SC 1 – Leader of the Council

Councillor Allen (Chair), Councillor Malpas (Deputy Chair) Councillor Acock, Boss, Caswell, Church, Flavell, B Hoare and Roy.

SC 2 – Community Leadership

Councillor Glynane (Chair), Councillor Miah (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, Barron, Colcannon, M Hoare, Lane, Malpas and Yates.

SC 3 – Community Safety and E-Government

Councillor Barron (Chair), Councillor Lane (Deputy Chair), Councillors Duncan, Edwards, M Hoare, Matthews, Pritchard, Stewart and Woods.

SC 4 – Financial Strategy and Performance

Councillor Marriott (Chair), Councillor Perkins (Deputy Chair), Councillors Caswell, Church, B Markham, Miah, Patterson, Robinson and Stewart.

SC 5 – Health and Environment

Councillor B Markham (Chair), Councillor McCutcheon (Deputy Chair), Councillors Allen, Eldred, Flavell, Hollis, Lane, Malpas and Pritchard.

SC 6 – Housing

Councillor Beardsworth (Chair), Councillor Mason (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, Caswell, Crake, Evans, I Markham, Robinson and Yates.

SC 7 – Planning, Regeneration and Transport

Councillor Boss (Chair), Councillor Woods (Deputy Chair), Councillors caswell, Duncan, Eldred, Glynane, Hollis, Simpson and Wire.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (11)

Councillor Robinson (Chair), Councillor Flavell (Deputy Chair), Councillors Crake, Edwards, B Hoare, Malpas, B Markham, Marriott, Mason, McCutcheon and Yates.

LICENSING COMMITTEE (12)

Councillor Steward (Chair), Councillor Taylor (Deputy Chair), Councillors Acock, Beardsworth, Caswell, Concannon, Duncan, Evans, I Markham, Miah, Wire and Woods.

LICENSING SUB COMMITTEE (3)

Any three members of the Licensing Committee.

16. STANDARDS COMMITTEE

The Leader of the Council to move and the Leader of the Main Opposition Group to second: "That the following be appointed to the Standards Committee (to include the appointment of Deputy Chair).

Mrs M Roberts (Chair), Councillor Flavell (Deputy Chair), Mr D Hughes (Mrs M Edwards, parish Council substitute), Mr J Romrose, Councillors Allen, B Hoare, Lane and Pritchard.

17. LOCAL JOINT COMMITTEE

To consider appointing 8 Councillors to comprise the Member side of the Local Joint Committee:

Councillor Palethorpe (Chair), Councillors Barron, Beardsworth, Hollis, Larratt, Matthews, Roy and Tavener.

18. CONSULTATION APPOINTMENTS

To consider the appointment of the following Councillors with whom consultations shall be held by the named Officer under the terms set out and delegated by the Council:

Civic Matters (Chief Executive)

The Mayor, The Deputy Mayor, Councillors Barron, Church, Hadland and Larratt.

Community Enabling Fund Advisory Panel (formerly Grants Matters)

(Chief Executive)

Councillors Beardsworth, Boss, Hadland, Hill, I Markham and Roy.

Markets Matters (Director of Business and Housing Services)

Councillors Hadland, B Markham, Marriott, Stewart, Taylor and Wire.

19. COMMUNITY SAFETY PARTNERSHIP

To consider the appointment of the following Councillors to represent the Council on the Northampton Borough Council Community Safety partnership:

Councillors Allen, Barron, Lane and Tavener.

20. APPOINTMENT ON OUTSIDE BODIES

21. DELEGATED AUTHORITIES

The Guildhall Northampton 20th May 2004

Acting Chief Executive